What we do

Investment funds

The lawyers in the Investment Funds Practice have extensive experience in the creation and maintenance of numerous French and Luxembourg investment vehicles covering all assets classes. The team also advises fund promoters and asset managers on eligible investments and strategies drafts the required legal documentation and facilitates all levels of regulatory review and approval.

Sector focus

The team is organized to provide specific expertise through close collaboration with the corporate, private equity, finance, real estate, tax, environment and public law practices of the firm. Our team therefore advises promoters and managers on the full spectrum of legal and tax issues during the life cycle of investment vehicles (and their underlying asset) beginning with fund formation, operational documentation and the necessary regulatory filings with the French and Luxembourg regulators through to exit.

The practice advises on the implementation and management of:

  • Private Equity Funds in all business sectors with a particular focus on tech, telecoms, biotech;
  • Real estate investment Funds;
  • Alternative investment funds (hedge funds);
  • Debt funds, securitization vehicles, structured and formula Funds.

Strong involvement in market negotiations

The team leverages its extensive knowledge of the regulatory and tax environment of institutional and retail investors to assist pension funds, insurance companies, mutual organizations, managers, private banks and individuals in tailoring dedicated funds to meet their diversification, direct investment or profit matters.

The recent developments in investment management regulations are part of a global movement relating to all financial players to improve coordination between States and regulators worldwide. At the European level, these developments include changes or amendments to regulations, the establishment of a new supervisory structure and the transposition of new international standards. Knowledge of the regulatory framework is crucial to understanding and interpreting regulations in the investment management sector and the fund industry, such as the AIFM Directive, EMIR Regulation, MIFID II and UCITs V. The team is actively involved in discussions on the evolution and interpretation of the applicable regulatory framework with the regulators, on the one hand, and the banking and financial community, on the other hand.

Expertise in Luxembourg investment funds

The firm assists its clients in setting up Luxembourg regulated structures such as UCITs, SIFs or SICARs vehicles in close cooperation with the Luxembourg regulator as well as unregulated investment vehicles like Soparfi. The firm also assists investment management companies in obtaining AIFM approvals and AIFM management or distribution passports. Our attorneys are also members of the Luxembourg bar and have an excellent relationship with the local regulators and the key actors in the Luxembourg fund industry.

A wide range of vehicles

The team routinely advises promoters, managers and institutional investors in forming and setting up their investment funds such as venture capital and private equity funds, real estate investment schemes, alternative investment funds, funds of funds, securitization vehicles, UCITs, SIFs, SICARs and other UCIs.

Que faisons-nous ?

Fonds d’investissements

Le Pôle Fonds d’Investissement est composé d’experts en matière de structuration de fonds d’investissement en droit français et luxembourgeois.

Une approche sectorielle

L’organisation repose sur une spécialisation sectorielle des avocats résultant d’une étroite collaboration avec les équipes corporate, private equity, financement, immobilier, fiscal, environnement et public. Ces synergies permettent d’accompagner les clients promoteurs et gérants dans toutes les problématiques juridiques et fiscales liées aux actifs sous-jacents et à la vie du véhicule d’investissement (de la constitution jusqu’à la clôture en passant par l’obtention des agréments AMF et/ou CSSF).

L’équipe intervient ainsi notamment dans la constitution de :

Elle conseille et représente les sociétés de gestion (françaises et étrangères) autorisées à gérer ces catégories d’actifs, notamment dans le cadre de leur procédure d’agrément en France et au Luxembourg et lors de la commercialisation de leurs produits financiers.

Une forte implication dans les négociations de place

La connaissance de l’environnement réglementaire et fiscal des investisseurs institutionnels et privés, permet à l’équipe d’accompagner des compagnies d’assurance, mutualistes, gérants, banques privées et particuliers, pour la conception de fonds dédiés répondant à leurs objectifs de diversification, d’investissement direct dans l’économie ou à des objectifs patrimoniaux.

L’abondante actualité réglementaire en matière de gestion d’actif s’insère dans un mouvement réglementaire plus global touchant l’ensemble des acteurs financiers et impliquant une meilleure coordination des États et régulateurs au niveau mondial. Elle comprend au niveau européen des changements de la législation, la création d’une nouvelle architecture de supervision et une transposition des nouvelles normes internationales. La connaissance de l’environnement réglementaire du secteur financier est déterminante pour la bonne compréhension et l’interprétation de la réglementation touchant le secteur de la gestion d’actif et l’industrie des fonds telle que la directive AIMF, le règlement EMIR, la directive MIF II, la directive UCITS V. L’équipe participe activement aux réflexions de place aux côtés des professionnels.

Une expérience des fonds luxembourgeois

C’est dans cette optique que le cabinet a choisi d’accompagner ses clients dans la mise en place de véhicules d’investissement de droit luxembourgeois réglementés ou non réglementés, notamment, sous forme d’’OPCVM, FIS ou SICAR, en relation étroite avec le régulateur luxembourgeois. Le cabinet accompagne également les sociétés de gestion dans le cadre de l’obtention de leur agrément à Luxembourg (AIFM, UCITs) et des passeports gestion ou commercialisation. Nos avocats sont également inscrits au barreau de Luxembourg où ils y ont acquis une expérience solide et possèdent une parfaite connaissance de la place luxembourgeoise, de ses principaux intervenants et de l’industrie des fonds d’investissement.

Une large gamme de véhicules

L’équipe conseille régulièrement les promoteurs, gérants et investisseurs institutionnels dans la constitution et la mise en place de leurs fonds : FCPR, OPPCI, fonds alternatifs, organismes de titrisation, OPCVM, FIS, SICAR.